Things to Know About Tunisia

Tunisia is officially known as the Republic of Tunisia, and its name derives from its capital city, Tunis. It covers an area of 163,610 square kilometers in the Maghreb region of North Africa.

Tunisia has a total population of 11.7 million people as of 2019. Neighboring countries to Tunisia is Algeria to the west and southwest and Libya to the southeast. To the north and east of Tunisia sits the Mediterranean Sea.

Tunisia on the World Map


Tunisia is surrounded by many geographic landmarks, with the Atlas Mountains to the eastern end, along with the northern reaches of the Sahara desert. Tunisia is filled with fertile soil thanks to the 1,300 kilometers of adjacent coastline.

Tunisia’s government is characterized as a unitary semi-presidential representative democratic republic, and is the only fully democratic state in the in the Arab world. The majority of Tunisians are of Berber descent, and has been heavily influenced largely by Roman, Arab, Andalusian, Turkish, and French cultural and linguistic input.

Map of Tunisia
Close Search Window